Home > Edu News, PD Stuff, Primary, Secondary > Welcome to the WA Teacher’s Lounge

Welcome to the WA Teacher’s Lounge


I have caught a dangerous new bug! Blogging! For those of you who have been watching my FACEBOOK page – I am so sorry!

WORDPRESS and FACEBOOK GROUPS have provided me with an outlet for two projects I have longed to see thrive in Perth.  

It’s always risky to put ideas ‘out there’ in case others don’t share your enthusiasm or interest (and let’s be frank – some people may just not like ME). But, I’ve decided to follow my convictions and (with a limited knowledge of the technical side or ‘best structure’ for an online approach) – “give it a good shot’.

Although the blogging TROJAN has fully taken hold, I have determined that two projects will be the limit of my online focus. The NSTR has already been widely circulated so I promise not to mention it again… for now 🙂 Although the link appears on this site.

The second project is this site, the ‘WA Teacher’s Lounge’.  In my own educational experience, I was primarily mentored, inspired, encouraged and influenced by the staff within the community in which I worked. Obviously, this is a perfectly ‘normal’ arrangement. But… I have also noticed the ‘Ah-Ha’ factor of having attended a Professional Development Day and having ‘rubbed shoulders’ with our educational elders are some of the most inspirational moments a teacher can have – even if the PD itself was of little value.

It is these moments over coffee and a bland biscuit that we can discuss ideas, approaches, beliefs, strategies that encourage us to consider ‘other’ alternative systems or resources that we have not previously been exposed to. 

Visiting other schools to ‘observe best practise’ or questioning like-subject professionals is often only the domain of the school’s  core leadership team which can lead to teachers having access to a limited range of system and procedural resources. This lack of connection is not only the ‘fault’ of schools. Professional Teacher Journal and Subscription readerships are noticeably down; we can only hope that educators (both new and old) take their vocation seriously enough to be accessing online developmental information. The sad truth is that many (the majority?) do not.

I muse with a colleague often that, “Clearly my agenda is showing”. Believe me, I am under no illusion that the ‘WA Teacher’s Lounge’ will offer any kind of landmark in reshaping our mentorship of Perth educators, clearly it a small drop in the ‘participation’ bucket. But, it’s the many small contributions that start a trickle. I hope that it will generate a few relationships, contacts and meaningful conversation but my greater hope is that it may contribute to the greater pool of educational mentorship.

The WA Teacher’s Lounge Teacher group to connect and talk about current educational trends, topics, concerns, groups, tactics, strategies, management, political decisions and technologies. Grab a seat and share your ideas! Tell us about other links, projects and events that involve connecting WA educators.  If you have a post that you think others would find interesting, please send it to me and I will add it to this Blog Roll on your behalf.

Look forward to hearing from you!

Paul Whitehead – Secondary Educator

Author Site:  www.panwhitehead.wordpress.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

